Understanding the Pharmaceutical Price Regulation Scheme (PPRS)

Understanding the 2009 PPRS

​The pharmaceutical industry plays a key role in enhancing both the health and wealth of the UK.

Over the years, patients in the National Health Service have been major beneficiaries of the many therapeutic advances made by the pharmaceutical companies operating in this country. The Health Departments in the UK and the ABPI have a common interest in ensuring that safe and effective medicines are available on reasonable terms to the NHS and in maintaining a strong, efficient and profitable pharmaceutical industry.

To ensure the future availability of new and improved medicines in this and other countries, the industry must be capable of sustained research and development. The Pharmaceutical Price Regulation Scheme is a voluntary agreement between the Government and the pharmaceutical industry aiming to create an environment where both these objectives can be achieved. The scheme was first introduced in 1957 and is generally renewed every five years or so. The current scheme runs for five years from January 2014.

The Pharmaceutical Price Regulation Scheme has played a significant role in the relationship between the industry, the NHS and the wider economy since its introduction in the early years of the NHS, but its mechanisms are complex and have not always been set out clearly and perhaps not widely understood.

PPRS 2014

The precise workings of the scheme are complex, and the full text of the 2014 PPRS is available on the Department of Health website.

The 2014 Pharmaceutical Price Regulation Scheme became effective on 1 January 2014.  The Department of Health (DH) is currently making arrangements to list those companies which have agreed to join the voluntary Scheme on the government website, but ABPI has agreed to post the list here as a temporary measure whilst that is being done.  Please note that the list below is one prepared by the DH and ABPI is not responsible for its accuracy.  If you believe your company is incorrectly cited, please contact the Department of Health directly.  The list of companies having agreed to become members is up to date as of 27 January 2014.  The DH has advised that 126 companies have joined the PPRS as of 1 January 2014 and a further 5 companies have expressed their willingness to join the scheme on 1 April 2014.  Members will be aware that any company which is not subject to the voluntary scheme is automatically subject to the statutory scheme.

Voluntary scheme members

Company Name
A. Menarini Pharma  UK S.R.L
Abbott Group Ltd
AbbVie Limited
Actavis UK Ltd
Actelion Pharmaceuticals UK Limited
Aegerion Pharmaceuticals Limited
Alcon Laboratories (UK) Ltd
Alexion Pharma UK
Alimera Sciences, Inc
Alk-Abello Ltd
Allergan Limited
Alliance Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Almirall UK
AMCo Ltd
Amgen Limited
AOP Orphan Limited
Archimedes Pharma UK Ltd
ARIAD Pharma (UK)
Aspen Healthcare
Aspire Pharma Ltd
Basilea Pharmaceuticals Limited
Beacon Pharmaceuticals
Bio Products Laboratory
Biogen  Idec Limited
BioMarin UK Ltd
Blue Bio Pharmaceuticals
Boehringer Ingelheim
Bristol Laboratories Ltd
Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Limited
Britannia Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Celgene Ltd
Chanelle Medical U.K. Limited
Chemidex Pharma Limited
Chiesi Ltd
Chugai Pharma UK Ltd
CliniMed Ltd
Creo Pharma Ltd
Daiichi-Sankyo UK LTD
Dallas Burston Ashbourne Ltd
Dermal Laboratories
Desitin Pharma Ltd
DHP Healthcare Ltd
Discovery Pharmaceuticals
Dr Faulk Pharma UK Ltd
Eisai Limited
Eli Lilly & Company Limited
Essential Pharmaceuticals Limited
Eumedica Pharmaceuticals
Ferndale Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Ferring Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Flynn Pharma Limited
Focus Pharmaceutical Ltd
Forest Laboratories UK
Galderma (UK) Ltd
Gambro UK
Gedeon Richter (UK) Ltd
GE Healthcare
Genus Pharmaceuticals
GlaxoSmithKline UK Ltd
Grunenthal Ltd
HK Pharma Ltd
InterMune UK & I Ltd
Internis  Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Intrapharm Laboratories Limited
Ipsen Ltd
Kestrel Ophthalmics Ltd
King Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Lucane Pharma
Marlborough Pharmaceuticals
Martindale Pharmaceuticals
Meda Pharmaceuticals Limited
Medac International
Merck Serono UK
Merck Sharp & Dohme
Merus Labs Luxco S.a R.L.
Merz Pharma UK Ltd
Napp Pharmaceutical Holdings
Neovii Biotech GmbH
Norgine Pharmaceuticals Limited
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Novartis Vaccines & Diagnostics
Novo Nordisk
Orion Pharma UK Ltd
Otsuka Pharmaceuticals (UK) Ltd
Oxbridge Pharma Ltd
Pharma Mar, S.A.
Pharmacosmos UK Ltd
Pharmaxis Pharmaceuticals Limited
Pierre Fabre Limited
Profile Pharma Ltd
ProStrakan Group plc
RAD Neurim Pharmaceuticals EEC Limited
Rapidscan Pharma Solutions
Reckitt Benckiser
RPH Pharmaceuticals AB
Sanofi Pasteur MSD
Septodont  Ltd
Servier Laboratories Ltd
Shire Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Smith & Nephew Healthcare
Stirling Anglian Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Stragen UK Limited
Sucampo Pharma Europe Ltd
Sun Pharmaceuticals UK Ltd
Swedish Orphan Biovitrum Ltd (Sobi)
Takeda UK Limited
Teva UK Ltd
Thornton & Ross Limited
Tillotts Pharma UK Limited
TMC Pharma Ltd
UCB Pharma Limited
Vertex Pharmaceuticals UK Ltd
Vifor Pharma UK Limited
Warner Chilcott UK
Wockhardt UK Ltd


Print this page icon Print this page
Please choose the subject of your enquiry from the list below:
Code to enter for submitting the form
Enter the above code here:
Can't read? Try different words.