Scottish pharmacists have won two out of the four annual awards sponsored by the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI). Of the other two winners, one comes from England and the other from Wales.


The ABPI awards - now in their second year - went to pharmacists who have shown:

  • Innovative practice that has improved the use of medicines.
  • Significant improvements in the quality of prescribing, dispensing or administering medicines.
  • Service developments that ensure patient access to high-quality care and medicines.

"Pharmacists have an important role to play in the provision of expert healthcare that is not always widely recognised, and these awards have been designed to encourage and celebrate their contribution to helping patients," said Martin Anderson, Director of NHS Policy and Partnerships at the ABPI.

"While the nature of awards such as these inevitably focuses on individual winners, many of these projects are the result of work by teams who have worked hard together to make improvements, and I know the winners would want me to emphasise that."

The winners are: Pamela Mills, principal pharmacist, NHS Ayrshire and Arran; Anne Kinnear, NHS Lothian; Jyoti Saini, prescribing adviser, Eastern Birmingham PCT; and Janet Thomas, partnership pharmacist, North East Wales NHS Trust/Wrexham LHB.

The four prize-winners will receive free tickets for the whole of this year's British Pharmaceutical Conference at Manchester. The applicants were judged by panels of senior NHS professionals and the ABPI.

The awards will be held again next year. Applications can be received from any practising pharmacist. An application form can be obtained in due course from the ABPI, 12 Whitehall, London, SW1A 2DY; or contact its website at


Print this page icon Print this page
Please choose the subject of your enquiry from the list below:
Code to enter for submitting the form
Enter the above code here:
Can't read? Try different words.