NICE decisions

NICE health technology appraisal decisions can be categorised into four types:

  1. Recommended: To be made available to all patients considered within the scope of the appraisal
  2. Restricted: To be made available to a sub-group of patients relative to the scope of the appraisal
  3. Not recommended: Not recommended for use by any patient relative to scope
  4. Terminated: Appraisal not complete and decision not reached

Figures 1 and 2 – NICE decisions​

The number of decisions that are not recommended have increased since 2000. Around two-thirds of decisions restrict use in a sub-population of the relevant group of patients, and just over one quarter are recommended.

Number of NICE appraisals

Figure 2 shows the trend in reported outcomes of NICE decisions, from 2000–2012

Number of NICE responses

Source: Office of Health Economics (OHE)
Print this page icon Print this page
Please choose the subject of your enquiry from the list below:
Code to enter for submitting the form
Enter the above code here:
Can't read? Try different words.